Is Pope Francis I the pope called Peter the Roman?

The next Pope after Pope Benedict XVI is Pope Francis I. He is a valid and true Pope over the one holy Catholic and Apostolic Church. But is he the pope prophesied by St. Malachy under the phrase: “Peter the Roman”???

I never expected Peter the Roman to be Italian or Roman or to have the first name Peter, or to take the papal name “Peter”. So these points do not imply that Pope Francis is not Peter the Roman. The prophetic phrases of St. Malachy describe the Pontificate of each Pope, not his name.

However, we will have to wait and see if Pope Francis is Peter the Roman, a doctrinal Pope who cracks down on dissent during the early months of the tribulation, or if he is a Pope who reigns prior to Peter the Roman, that is, prior to the tribulation.

I was mistaken that the next Pope after Pope Benedict XVI would be Cardinal Arinze, and I was mistaken that the next Pope would take the name Pope Pius XIII. I will still continue to write eschatology, but I’ll be revising some of my predictions in the coming months.

by
Ronald L. Conte Jr.
Roman Catholic theologian and
translator of the Catholic Public Domain Version of the Bible.

Gallery | This entry was posted in discipline, doctrine, eschatology, Popes. Bookmark the permalink.