Fasting and abstaining from meat during Lent

Is it a mortal sin not to fast or abstain from meat during Lent? See my previous post on this topic in the link above.

Gallery | This entry was posted in ethics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fasting and abstaining from meat during Lent

  1. Matt says:

    Ron,
    Quite often I come across homeless at freeway offramps, medians, or bus benches, begging for money. I rarely if ever give money to them because I believe that the money will be used to buy alcohol, drugs, or cigarettes, based on their appearance. I’d rather give them a bottle of water or food. I’ve always struggled with this issue.

    I do always give money to the Catholic Church with the intent to help the Church and the Church helps the poor.

    Am I committing a mortal sin by not giving to the homeless in the streets?

    • Ron Conte says:

      It is not a mortal sin, if you refrain from one type of almsgiving, out of concern for possible harmful consequences, in favor of other types of almsgiving. It would be a mortal sin to never give alms, to see our neighbors in need in this world and always turn away from helping, in some way.

  2. Alex Lim says:

    Hi Ron, for the interest of Catholics, pls respond to this Kelly Bowring claim that Pope Francis could be the false prophet.

    http://twoheartspress.com/blog/how-to-respond-if-pope-francis-is-the-false-prophet-2/#more-1544

    Regards Alex Lim

Comments are closed.