Weekend Q and A (through monday)

This post is an opportunity to ask me any question in Catholic theology. As I’ve stated before, I won’t engage in arguments. The purpose of these posts is learning. Ask me questions if you think that you can learn something from me.

edited to add: I would prefer to be asked questions about my own writings, rather than the writings of others. Or you can ask me a question on a topic in Catholic theology.

Gallery | This entry was posted in theology. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend Q and A (through monday)

  1. jbbt9 says:

    Ron. I have read that Henry of Ghent (1217-1293), a secular priest and master of theology in the University of Paris considered whether a criminal sentenced to death had a right to escape. He concluded that not only did he have a right but also he had an obligation to do so if possible. What is your view?

    • Ron Conte says:

      I haven’t read that author’s theology, so I can’t comment on what he said.

      If the death sentence is unjust because the person is innocent, or because the crime was not severe enough to deserve the death penalty, then escaping might be moral. It depends on the circumstances. A criminal justly sentenced for a crime that he did commit has no right to escape.

  2. Matt says:

    Ron,
    How does a Catholic respond to this passage in the Old Testament wher God instructed Saul through the prophet Samuel to “go and attack Amalek, and utterly destroy all that they have, and do not spare them. But kill both man and woman, infant and nursing child, ox and sheep, camel and donkey” (1 Samuel 15:3-4)

    • Ron Conte says:

      God is the Lord of all. He decides when each person’s life ends, by His providence. He gives life, and He takes it away. So it is not wrong for God to decide to end a person’s life sooner, rather than later. Also, we must remember that we all have immortal souls, so God is not ending a life, but continuing it in the afterlife.

  3. Francisco says:

    Just a comment regarding the first question by jbbt9. Ron could not have explained it better.

    I haven’t read Henry of Ghent, but maybe, and just maybe, it’s based on the fact when an Angel of God helped Peter escape from jail; and, of course, in this case Peter was made prisoner unjustly.

  4. Matt says:

    Ron,
    Can you give examples on how one should worship God?

    • Ron Conte says:

      love God above all else, love your neighbor as yourself, prayer, self-denial, works of mercy, reception of the Sacraments, the devotions of the Church, reading Scripture and the writings of the Saints, and those are just a few examples off the top of my head.

  5. J. Neagram says:

    Ron, could you assess the latest post by Fr Erlenbush. Its entitled “Will I really go to hell for just one mortal sin?”. While there is truth to things he says, the article seems overly simplistic and, quite frankly, rubs me the wrong way. For instance, he says the follwing: “Do you really think that God is going to send me to hell just because I skipped Mass one Sunday?! I mean, I was on vacation!” To this, we must respond, “If you die without true repentance, you will surely go to hell.”

  6. warrenjwalker says:

    Ron:

    I know that I am a bit late for the Q&A, but I do have a question regarding Biblical Inspiration and Inerrancy.

    The question is this: “Do certain translations of the Holy Scriptures dilute the Inerrancy and Inspiration of the original text which was written under the guidance of the Holy Spirit? In other words, are all translations of the Bible considered to have the same degree of Inspiration and Inerrancy (are all translations acceptable)?”

    I am sure that this is a common question among Catholics who pray or study with the scriptures, but I would like to hear your thoughts on the matter.

    I hope my question is clear, and I apologize for being late to the Q&A. However, I would be very grateful if you would answer my question if at all possible.

    Peace be with you,
    – Jake

    • Ron Conte says:

      Editing, translation, copying, and printing are not done under inspiration, so these efforts are not protected from error. The inerrancy of Scripture is not harmed by this type of error because we have many editions available to consult, in multiple languages. And we have the teachings of Tradition and the Magisterium, to recognize any error that might affect faith or morals.

  7. warrenjwalker says:

    Ron:

    Thank you for your reply. :)

Comments are closed.