Q and A on Guardian Angels

I received an e-mail from a reader with a series of questions on guardian angels. Here are the questions and my answers. My answers are in the realm of speculative theology.

Q: “Does my guardian angel know what I am thinking?”

A: Not every thought. The holy angels and blessed souls in Heaven only know what they ordinately wish to know, in accord with the will of God.

Q: “Can my guardian angel (or the priest’s) hear [what I am saying in] my Confessions?”

A: No. See my answer above. Guardian angels do not wish to know anything that they should not know.

Q: “Are all guardian angels, angels or are some archangels or higher?”

A: I think they are all (or mostly) angels, and not of the higher orders, but I cannot be sure.

Q: “Is each guardian angel “given” just one human, and does each human have just one guardian angel?”

A: Angels have existed since before humanity existed and there are very many of them. So I suppose that each guardian angel has only one human at a time, but a number of humans in succession, one lifetime at a time.

Q: “Are guardian angels with the suffering souls in Purgatory?”

A: I think they can visit them and pray for them, but they do not suffer with them.

Q: “What happens to a guardian angel whose human goes to Hell?”

A: He is perhaps assigned to a new human person.

Q: “Is it true that there will be exactly as many humans in Heaven as there were angels who fell?”

A: Not at all. The offer of salvation is universal, and therefore it is not limited by such a claim, regardless of how large or small the number of fallen angels may be.

by
Ronald L. Conte Jr.
Roman Catholic theologian and translator of the Catholic Public Domain Version of the Bible.

Please take a look at this list of my books and booklets, and see if any topic interests you.

Gallery | This entry was posted in commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Q and A on Guardian Angels

  1. Tom Mazanec says:

    I am the questioner.
    I had hesitated to ask these “silly” or “trivial” questions of Mr. Conte because of his back trouble (I have had some minor experience in that department myself, so I could sympathize), not wanting to burden him when he was in such pain. Finally I decided to ask, thinking he would most likely just send the email to the circular file but just might answer it.
    He not only answered but asked permission to post the questions. I was glad to have helped him write his blog. I hope he gets better.
    I consider him an online friend. Each night I thank God for having given me such a wonderful life and for Jesus’ dying so my sins could be forgiven, a prayer for my family and friends, a prayer for my father in Purgatory, one for my mother in Purgatory, and an Act of Contrition. I let God decide which friend or relative to apply my prayer to. Perhaps Mr. Conte was one.

Comments are closed.